(Submit milestone announcements to

Gray to advance Peabody media mission

Mar 7, 2017
Photo: Jonathan Gray

You might be familiar with the Peabody Awards, given for distinguished media achievements since 1940. Peabody is now launching The Media Center, a production division and scholarly research center. UW-Madison’s Jonathan Gray will be one of the inaugural Peabody Fellow Scholars.

Bird Bear to lead diversity programs in SoE

Feb 28, 2017
Photo: Aaron Bird Bear

Aaron Bird Bear has been appointed assistant dean for student diversity programs in the School of Education. Bird Bear will be responsible for leadership around recruiting, supporting and retaining underrepresented students, while also serving as the school’s multicultural/disadvantaged coordinator.

Two receive prestigious Sloan awards

Feb 23, 2017
Graphic: Sloan Foundation logo

Two UW-Madison professors, Darcie Moore and Steven Sam, have been named to Sloan Research Fellowships — prestigious and competitive awards given to promising young researchers in the early stages of their careers. Past winners include 43 who went on to receive Nobel Prizes.

Business school’s Thompson wins fellowship

Feb 21, 2017
Photo: Craig Thompson

Wisconsin School of Business Professor Craig Thompson has been named a 2017 Association for Consumer Research Fellow. Thompson’s research includes how class and gender shape consumer preferences and behavior, and the influences market systems exert over consumer choice and lifestyle.

Rau wins award to study STEM learning

Feb 16, 2017
Photo: Martina Rau

Martina Rau recently received a grant from the National Science Foundation to explore how adaptive educational technologies can improve students’ learning in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM). Adap-tive technologies, such as online tutoring sys-tems, are designed to individualize instruction.

Keller, retired from Covance, joins WARF board

Feb 14, 2017
Photo: Deborah Keller

Deborah Keller, a retired Covance Inc. executive with extensive global experience in drug development, has joined the board of the Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation. Keller has an MBA from UW-Madison and serves on the board of the Wisconsin School of Business and its Dean’s Advisory Board.

2 win awards for nursing research

Feb 14, 2017
Photo: Barbara Bowers

Two School of Nursing faculty members have earned awards from the Midwest Nursing Research Society. Barbara J. Bowers (left) received the Lifetime Achievement Award for her scholarship in long-term care. Barbara J. King was cited for her work to optimize nursing care of hospitalized older adults.


Cramer named UW System vice president

Jan 24, 2017
Photo: Robert Cramer

Robert G. Cramer has been named the UW System’s vice president for administration. He will be the system’s chief operating officer, overseeing facilities planning, information technology, human resources, and other areas. He succeeds David Miller, who stepped down in December.

Ladson-Billings among most influential

Jan 19, 2017
Photo: Gloria Ladson-Billings

Education Week blogger Rick Hess has published his annual rankings of the most influential education scholars in the United States, and UW-Madison’s Gloria Ladson-Billings is ranked No. 3. Ladson-Billings holds the Kellner Family Distinguished Chair in Urban Education.


Astrophysics innovator Lawler wins national award

Jan 19, 2017
Photo: James Lawler

James Lawler, a professor of physics known for devising innovative techniques to measure the chemical elements in the sun and other stars, has been named the recipient of the 2017 Laboratory Astrophysics Prize by the American Astronomical Society. He earned his doctorate here before joining the faculty.

Harris is interim leader of quality improvement

Jan 12, 2017
Photo: Darin Harris

Following the retirement of Maury Cotter, Darin Harris has been named interim director of UW-Madison’s Office of Quality Improvement. Harris has been a consultant and facilitator in OQI since 2004. He previously worked for 10 years at the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources.

Straus nominated for Holocaust Memorial Council

Jan 10, 2017
Photo: Scott Straus

Scott Straus, director of graduate studies in the Political Science Department, has been appointed by President Obama as a member of the United States Holocaust Memorial Council. Straus, previously a freelance journalist, has been honored by the Simon-Skjodt Center for the Prevention of Genocide.

Barker moves to CALS in research role

Dec 15, 2016
Photo: Bill Barker

Bill Barker is the new CALS associate dean for research, leading the college’s Research Division and overseeing the Agricultural Research Stations. He currently directs the Offices of Research Policy and Industrial Partnerships in the Office of the Vice Chan-cellor for Research and Graduate Education.


Family law expert selected for research chair

Dec 15, 2016
Photo: Tonya Brito

A Law School professor will use an innovative research chair to complete a project that examines the civil justice experiences of unrepresented parents in child support cases. Tonya Brito, a nationally known family law expert, is the 2016 recipient of the Sheldon B. Lubar Distinguished Research Chair in Law.

Q&A: Maury Cotter drives pursuit of quality

Dec 13, 2016
Photo: Maury Cotter

After 26 years at UW–Madison, Maury Cotter will retire in January as director of the university’s Office of Quality Improvement. The office provides strategic planning, project management, restructuring, process improvement and change management — all in the name of organizational excellence.

Okoli presided over many successful building projects

Dec 8, 2016
Photo: Daniel Okoli

Daniel Okoli, university architect and director of capital planning and development, is leaving UW-Madison for a job at Northern Arizona University. Okoli has overseen more than 115 capital projects totaling over $3 billion. He was also the first chairperson of the VCFA’s Engagement, Inclusion and Diversity Council.

Stern shaped Latin American history program

Dec 6, 2016
Photo: Steve Stern

Collaboration and respect for other opinions not only played an ongoing role in Steve Stern’s career — they also helped shape a division of the history department where he worked for 38 years. As he prepares for retire-ment at the end of this semester, Stern credits colleagues and students for his success.

Hess, McAvoy honored for ‘political classroom’ work

Dec 6, 2016
Photo: Cover of book "The Political Classroom"

School of Education Dean Diana Hess and program director of the Center for Ethics and Education Paula McAvoy are co-winners of the 2017 University of Louisville Grawemeyer Award in Education. They were honored for encouraging teachers not to resist discussion of controversial issues in the classroom.

Smeeding’s award among social sciences’ highest

Dec 1, 2016
Photo: Tim Smeeding

The American Academy of Political and Social Science has named La Follette School Pro-fessor Tim Smeeding as its John Kenneth Galbraith Fellow in recognition of his contrib-utions to improving society through research and public service. Chancellor Rebecca Blank is one of the group’s past fellows.

4-H honors emeritus Professor Terry Howard

Nov 29, 2016
Photo: Terry Howard

Terry Howard of the Department of Dairy Sci-ence was inducted into the Wisconsin 4-H Youth Development Hall of Fame Nov. 5. Howard’s interest in the dairy industry began as a 4-H’er working on his father’s farm. He went on to create opportunities for countless students, producers and professionals.